I search very high quality paper

Welcome Forums Questions & Answers I search very high quality paper

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Yuehjian
      Participant

Ni hao,

Thank you for the membership in this forum.

After a short introduction of myself,because this is my first post, I would like to ask a specific question.

I am a german based artist, painter and soundsculpturer with strong chinese and japanese influences.

In my paintings I am focused on a personal style of fantasy/sureal art, executed in a mixed gong bi technique, especially the „two brushes“ technique where you hold two brushes in one hand, one for painting, the other for smoothening out, swiching very rapidly between those two.

I practiced this quite a lot and are very comfortable with it, I use it also a lot for small format work with western watercolors.

Because we moved our home I had not the space for working on bigger formats with Shu Xuan paper, and so I painted more smaller formats, also exploring digital art as well, but now as I have space again I want to start again with bigger paintings.

Now to the question:

I tried and ordered various matured ( alumen – gelatine ) Shu Xuan Papers, from other suppliers from all over the world, also some offered from Henry Li ( blueheronart) who also organized some great mounting of my pictures, and I am a huge fan of chinese papers !

I love the structure, and finness of Xuan paper, and the way the ink behaves on it.

However, there is one thing that allways bothered me a little bit and now after working with western water color paper it went even more clear:

All of the Shu Xuan Papers I have seem to have a grid impression, left from the paper-making. I guess it is due to the bamboo filter, that is put into the pulp to create the paper.

Now, dont get me wrong, please: I really love the handmade aspect and the art behind the crafting !